Lunch/Dinner Recipes

Sloppy Lennies

And now for the longest awaited recipe ever!  I’ve loved this recipe since the first time I made it & find myself making it over and over again.  It tends to be my go-to recipe to ‘wow’ the meat eater & it works every time! I made these for the Superbowl party this year & Im just now getting it posted!  I have this terrible habit of writing recipes on scraps of paper and then either losing them in a pile of other recipes or just never getting around to writing them out in a way nice enough to give other people.  Shame on me!

Because this sloppy joe recipe’s main ingredient is lentils I’ve lovingly nicknamed it sloppy lennies.  I originally found this on Happy Herbivore.  Her meal plans are incredible and if you don’t want to think about what to make & are looking to stay on a really good budget I highly recommend trying it.  This is one of the free sample meal plans you can get from her (I’ve only slightly tweaked mine).  Here is the link to her page:  https://www.getmealplans.com/   And the moment you’ve all been waiting for!

 

sloppy lennies

 

Sloppy Lennies

Serves: 8-10

16 oz tomato sauce

1/2 cup peach preserves

4 tbsp molasses

4 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp liquid smoke

1 large onion (I used white)

2 bell peppers

4 cloves garlic

3 tbsp chipotle in adobo sauce (I like spice & also added a little of the sauce too but adjust to your taste)

4 cups cooked lentils (I buy precooked ones at Meijer because Im a terrible lentil maker haha)

8 hamburger buns

 

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, whisk together tomato sauce, peach preserves, molasses, apple cider vinegar, and liquid smoke and then set a side.
  2. Lightly spray pan with cooking spray & saute onion for about 3 minutes.
  3. Add in bell pepper and continue to saute until tender (dont overcook!)
  4. Add in garlic and chipotle, cooking until fragrant.
  5. Pour in tomato mixture.
  6. Lower heat and simmer until thickened. About 15-20 minutes
  7. Add in lentils and stir to combine.  Let simmer just a bit more to warm up lentils if needed.
  8. Remove from heat & spoon onto buns.
  9. Watch shocked meat eaters go back for seconds (haha just kidding EVERYONE goes back for seconds!)

Hope you all enjoy this recipe!  Let me know what you think.  Happy cooking!

 

Leave a Reply

